My first blog! The long journey of being a writer.

I have started this blog as a creative outlet for my ideas and opinions and to talk about and promote my writing. I have been a writer since about eighteen, penning mostly poetry, fantasy, science fiction, and various philosophical ideas. I also love to collect quotes, so you will see a fair amount of those on here as well.

My journey to become a published writer has been a long one, marked by procrastination, self doubt, and fleeting moments of inspiration. I have talked about trying to publish my work for years, but didn’t actively pursue it until recently. My wife, Sussie has been on my case to write more and submit my stories and poems for years. She has been and continues to be my biggest supporter and motivator.

I finally decided to get serious about my writing and for my birthday last year my wife bought me a reservation to a workshop that the Bedford Library Friends Writers Circle was hosting. Author Sarah A. Hoyt, and editor/author Amanda S. Green presented the workshop and I learned so much valuable information about writing, and publishing over the course of the weekend. Each of us in the workshop submitted some of our writing to be critiqued, and I nervously awaited judgement on the part of the story I had written. Much to my surprise and delight, Sarah liked my writing, said I was a good storyteller, and proclaimed that with some diligent self editing I could be a publishable writer. Few words in my life have ever made me so happy. It gave me not only validation that I was actually a decent enough writer that people would be interested in my stories, but also the motivation to want to get my work out there for publication.

Thus began my serious attempts at writing more, and editing what I already had written, to prepare my work to be submitted to publishers. This was in the Fall of 2010, and barely a month after the workshop, by a series of fortuitous events, I was invited to submit a story for a historical fantasy shared world anthology. But this was not just any run of the mill anthology. I had read the Heroes in Hell series when they were first published from 1986 to 1989, when I was still in High School, and they are some of my favorite books. Janet Morris, who created, edited and wrote for the original series is bringing the series back with a new book and new authors along with some of those who wrote for the original series.  I was asked by Janet to be part of the working group of writers for the new book, and of course I jumped at the chance. She had gotten to know me from my comments and interactions at The Sacred Band Facebook page, and apparently liked what I had to say enough to ask me to contribute to the new Heroes in Hell book. All of us writers have been brainstorming ideas, plot lines, character interactions, and promotional strategies for the book, and subsequent books to follow for the series. It continues to be a fun, creative, wild ride, and I am very fortunate to be a part of the experience and work with such great writers, and wonderful people. My story has been accepted for publication in the book, Lawyers in Hell which comes out this Summer, 2011 in e-book format, trade paperback and hardcover. It will be my first published story. I  am working hard to refine my craft of writing, trying to learn as much as I can and become the best writer I can be. I have a lot to learn, but I have found some great mentors to help me along my journey. Thank You Sarah A. Hoyt for sharing your knowledge, and for your encouragement that gave me the confidence to pursue my goal of being a published writer. Thanks Amanda S. Green and the Writers Circle for your advice, words of wisdom, and support. Thanks Janet Morris and Chris Morris for believing in me and inviting me to write for the Heroes in Hell series. I am eternally grateful for this opportunity. Thanks to everyone in the Lawyers in Hell group for being such a great bunch of friends, talented writers, and a constant inspiration for keeping the words flowing. Most of all, thanks to my wife, Sussie, for always supporting and encouraging me to follow my dream, and to my daughter, Alina for understanding the madness of it all.

“If you would not be forgotten, as soon as you are rotten,
either write things worth reading or do things worth the writing.”-Benjamin Franklin

Published in: on April 4, 2011 at 2:01 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://larryatchleyjr.wordpress.com/2011/04/04/hello-world/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nice, very nice 🙂

  2. Congratulations! I’ve been trying to publish now for two years, myself. Nice to read about the process when it works out right.


Leave a Reply

