A Steampunk Christmas Ball in Jefferson Texas, or Dancing With Me and My Shadow

“Each day I must shake off the dross that the mundane world has foisted upon me, so that my imagination may be free to wander through realms of the fantastic.” –Larry Atchley Jr.

This was an event that I attended back in the middle of December, but I’m just now getting around to uploading the photos from my camera. I know, I take procrastination to a whole new level. This was a really fun event that featured an almost two hour musical performance by one of my favorite bands, Darwin Prophet & the Chronus Mirror.

050

The creative force of timeless space and energy that is Darwin Prophet.

043

The lovely and talented DarKrys on vocals viola and percussion.

053

Maestro on the violin.

078

And it wouldn’t be a proper Christmas Ball without a Steampunk Santa.

059

And here I am in my Shadow Dancer outfit. Photo credit: Ron Wheeler. Thanks Ron for capturing this moment in time.

Shadow Dancer

Assault rifles can’t hold a candle to this steampunk gun.

098

And here’s Ron Wheeler, the awesome photographer, and all around cool guy who got the great shot of me in my Shadow outfit.

081

And it wouldn’t be a steampunk ball without ladies in fancy dresses. My friend Jennifer, on the right with her friend whose name I don’t remember. Heh, sorry about that.

074

Well that’s a wrap on another blog post for this week. Thanks to Darwin Prophet & the Chronus Mirror and  everyone who put on this wonderful fun event. As always, it was great to meet with friends, old and new alike. I had a blast tripping the light fantastic with all of you awesome people. I’ll leave you with a quote from this Victorian era genius:

“Ordinary riches can be stolen, real riches cannot. In your soul are infinitely precious things that cannot be taken from you.”
 -Oscar Wilde

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://larryatchleyjr.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/a-steampunk-christmas-ball-in-jefferson-texas-or-dancing-with-me-and-my-shadow/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

