The Short Pale Writer in the Long Black Coat at All-Con Dallas

“Verse is not written, it is bled; Out of the poet’s abstract head. Words drip the poem on the page; Out of his grief, delight and rage.”

-Paul Engle

The Short Pale Writer in the Long Black Coat will be at All-Con Dallas this weekend. It is a fan based convention for all things from science fiction, fantasy, horror, literature, writing, film, television, geek culture, role playing games, board games, cosplaying, music, and much, much more. Joining me for several panels is the always awesome Jenn Monty, who has put a lot of work into out panel content this year coming up with the topis and doing research on our subjects. Thank You Jenn! She is an excellent writer , one of my good friends and also I’m happy to say, a devout fan of my writing.  She will be with me on the following panels: Diesel vs. Steam: The elements of a good ”Punk” story, Novel Creation Notebook, Creative Collaborations, Writing Technology, Writing Gore: How Much is Too Much? Also with me on the Diesel vs. Steam panel will be my good friends Larry and Tina Amyett from the North Texas Dieselpunks. With me during the Speculative Fiction Author reading and the panel, Creating Interesting Characters and Worlds, are two authors and friends of mine, Ethan Nahte and Mel White. And then for the Songs for a Mechanical Age – The Poetry of Steampunk panel, I will be joining my friend and fellow Seadog Slam crew member Stephen Sanders.  Here is my schedule of appearances for discussion panels and literary readings:
Friday 3-14
Speculative Fiction Author Reading
Maple (Friday)8:00 PM – 8:45 PM (Rated: Mature)

Diesel vs. Steam: The elements of a good ”Punk” story
Maple (Friday) 9:00 PM – 9:45 PM (Rated: Mature)

Saturday 3-15
Novel Creation Notebook
Maple (Saturday) 12:00 PM – 12:45 PM (Rated: Mature)

Songs for a Mechanical Age – The Poetry of Steampunk
Elm (Saturday)1:00 PM – 1:45 PM (Rated: Everyone)

Creative Collaborations
Elm (Saturday) 8:00 PM – 8:45 PM (Rated: Teen)

Writing Gore: How Much is Too Much?
Maple (Saturday) 11:00 PM – 11:45 PM (Rated: Adult)

Sunday 3-16
Creating Interesting Characters and Worlds

Maple (Sunday) 1:00 PM – 1:45 PM (Rated: Everyone)

Writing Technology
Pecan (Sunday) 3:00 PM – 3:45 PM (Rated: Teen)

I hope to see many of you, my friends, there this weekend. It is an extremely fun event and you will have a blast. I know I do every year. There will be room parties Friday and Saturday night, so the fun will last late into the wee hours and all weekend long.  And so I leave you with another pithy quote:

“Sit down to write what you have thought, and not to think about what you shall write.”

-William Cobbett

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://larryatchleyjr.wordpress.com/2014/03/14/the-short-pale-writer-in-the-long-black-coat-at-all-con-dallas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment